Scary Bed Monsters

One night, when I was a kid, I heard very distinct scratches coming from under my wooden bedframe. It was late, a the night was quiet. The frightening noises resonated all the more eerily. I got so scared that I didn’t dare opening the large drawer where the scraping noises seem to originate from, leading to a most shaky night of sleep..

On the morrow’s eve, I had almost forgotten all about it. However, the scratches resumed nightly. For sure these claws had to belong to some frightening variation of closet monsters I’d – only recently – grown quite unimpressed with, having repeatedly failed to encounter one at all yet, be it a little tiny one..

Image

On the third night though, I spent some time gathering every once of bravery within my preteen body & soul, and accepted  to face my inner fears. After a few scratches slashed the silent darkness of night, I jumped out of bed, switched the light on and pulled the drawer open with the most resolute energy.

I couldn’t help  being startled by the sight as it revealed itself to my eager eyes: at the very back of the drawer, behind Monopoly, Boggle, Risk & other board games boxes, a stray kitty had chosen my very room to give birth to 3 adorable kittens. I was so ashamed I’d be shaking with fear for claws I had pictured as long as scythes, or at least as Freddy Krueger’s nails, that I closed the drawer, turned the light off, and slid into the most serene night of sleep in 3 very long days. Counting scratches instead of sheep worked pretty well that night, as attempting to guess & picture the little critters’s motions inside their wooden home turned out to drain my brain without delay.

On the fourth night, I must admit I felt kind of disappointed when I found out that my kitty had left with the kids. How could she have guessed so soon & without outside help that I wasn’t the father type?

 

© Jamil El Andaloussi

About uberslan

Cultural Consultant, Composer, Songwriter
This entry was posted in English, Tales & Legends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scary Bed Monsters

  1. Hey there! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  2. Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good blog!

  3. uberslan says:

    Thank you for your support & appreciation!

    Please do forgive the late moderation of your nice comments: I’ve just but found them…

Leave a Reply

